Australia Council invests in leading artists

Art Press Release from Australia. Published by anonymous on Friday 05 December 2014.

Some of Australia’s most accomplished artists working in various art forms have been recognised with prestigious Australia Council Fellowships.

The highly sought after fellowships, worth $100,000 over two years, are awarded to outstanding, established artists for creative activity and professional development. This year they have been awarded to 12 artists in seven art form areas. This year’s recipients are:

• Yumi Umiumare – Dance

• Gail Priest – Emerging and Experimental Arts

• Tamara Saulwick – Theatre

• Patrick Nolan – Theatre

• David Brooks – Literature

• Jennifer Lyons-Reid – Community Arts and Cultural Development

• Oren Ambarchi – Music

• Kate Neal – Music

• Rosalind Page – Music

• Marco Fusinato – Visual Arts

• Jill Orr – Visual Arts

• Cameron Robbins – Visual Arts

Australia Council Chief Executive Officer Tony Grybowski congratulated the recipients of this year’s fellowships and paid tribute to the outstanding body of work each had already produced in their respective art forms.

“Fellowships have always been central to the Council’s grants program and for many artists they are life-changing to their career,” Mr Grybowski said.

“Fellowships are only granted once in an artists’ lifetime to those who can demonstrate outstanding achievement on the national and international stage, so the calibre of these recipients is very impressive.

“One of the goals in the Council’s new Strategic Plan – Australia is known for its great art and artists – aims to build the capacity of artists to make excellent work and foster experimentation and risk-taking in all art forms.

“Fellowships realise this goal by supporting artists to develop their arts practice, experiment, research and create new ways to present their works and further their artistic ambitions and career.

“They play an important role in providing artists with the time and financial security needed to focus on their work and the freedom to reflect, innovate, experiment and collaborate.”

Fellowship applications are assessed and awarded by peers in the relevant art form areas.

Under the Australia Council’s new grants model, which begins in January, Fellowships will be offered once a year with a June closing date.

Past Fellowship recipients include Gary Lang, Alana Valentine, Archie Roach, Tim Daly, Judith Wright and Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Fellowships will be announced along with the Red Ochre and Dreaming awards on 27 May 2015.