The Model Citizen

The Model Citizen takes on the challenge of activating the role that art can play in modelling forms of contemporary citizenship. In this interactive exhibition attendees will meet the micro lenses of surveillance and audit culture, the algorithm of benign search engines, the ghostly noise of a thousand newsreaders speaking all at once, and the hopeful threads and

Art Exhibition currently on at RMIT Gallery in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Friday 08 February 2019 to Saturday 23 March 2019
Launch Thursday 07 February 2019, 6:00 - 8:00pm

The Model Citizen  image The Model Citizen  image

Published by RMIT Gallery on Saturday 12 January 2019.
Contact the publisher.

Curators
Sean Redmond and Darrin Verhagen

Artists
Asim Bhatti, David Cross, Larissa Hjorth, Leah Kardos, Jondi Keane, Bronek Kozka, Lyn McCredden, John McCormick, Shaun McLeod, Rowan McNaught, Olivia Millard, Adam Nash, Patrick Pound, Sean Redmond, Sadia Sadia, Polly Stanton, (((20hz)))

Free public programs
Friday 8th Feb, 12:30 -1:30 pm – Curator talk (Sean Redmond and Darrin Verhagen).
Thurs 21st Feb, 5:30 – 6:30 pm – Artist panel: What is a Model Citizen? (Sean Redmond, Sadia Sadia, Lyn McCredden, Polly Stanton & David Cross).
Fri 1st March,12:30 – 1:30 pm – Ghosts of Noise: Sadia Sadia in conversation with Evelyn Tsitas.
Thurs 7th March, 5:30 – 6:30 pm – Modelling Surveillance (Bronek Kozka and Larissa Hjorth).
Fri 15th March, 12:30 – 1:30 pm – Modelling Art (Jondi Keane, Shaun McLeod, Olivia Millard).
Fri 22nd March, 12:30 – 1:30 pm – Modelling the Viral (Adam Nash, John McCormick, Asim Bhatti).

Location

RMIT Gallery, 344 Swanston Street, Melbourne, 3000