2019 Bowness Photography Prize | Award announcement

Dreaming Mum again | Leah King-Smith | Exhibition launch

Come celebrate Australian photography with us and the artists. Join us from 6.30pm as we announce the winner of the 2019 Bowness Photography Prize – who will receive $30 000 and their work will become part of MGA’s significant collection of Australian photographs – and the three Colour Factory Honourable Mentions.

Art Exhibition previously on at MGA - Monash Gallery of Art in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Thursday 10 October 2019 to Thursday 10 October 2019
Launch Thursday 10 October 2019, 6-8pm

2019 Bowness Photography Prize | Award announcement image

Published by Monash Gallery of Art on Saturday 21 September 2019.
Contact the publisher.

On behalf of MGA Foundation, Chair Kallie Blauhorn, and MGA Director Anouska Phizacklea warmly invite you to the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize award announcement and the launch of Dreaming mum again by Leah King-Smith.

In 2018 Sotheby’s Australia became the proud sponsor of the Sotheby’s Australia People’s Choice Award. Sotheby’s Australia is the premier auctioneer of art, decorative arts and jewels within Australia, and extols creativity and scholarship. The MGA Foundation is pleased to announce that the prize awarded to the recipient has increased to $5000 which will provide significant encouragement and support to the selected artist. Sotheby’s Australia’s support of the Bowness Photography Prize is a reflection of the national and historic importance of this prize and the MGA Foundation is profoundly grateful to partner with Sotheby’s Australia.

All voters of the Sotheby’s Australia People’s Choice Award will go into a draw to win a prize pack.

2019 Bowness Photography Prize finalists

Rochelle Marie Adam, Riste Andrievski, Jonathan Armstrong, Zia Atahi, Simon Aubor, Sarah Barker, Sofi Basseghi, Greg Bilton, Polly Borland, Anna Carey, Céleste Cebra, Danica Chappell, Peta Clancy, David Collins, Ross Coulter, Emilio Cresciani, Chloe Dann, Gerwyn Davies, Shoufay Derz, Jo Duck, Stephen Dupont, Cherine Fahd, James Farley, George Fetting, Robert Fielding, J Forsyth, Andrea Francolini, Jon Frank, Lee Grant, Mark Harper, Fiona Kemp, Ingvar Kenne, Katrin Koenning, Benjamin Liew, Louis Lim, Ruth Maddison, Koji Makino, Danie Mellor, Anne Moffat, Bill Moseley, Tajette O’Halloran, Sean Paris, Sonia Payes, Clare Rae, Asanka Brendon Ratnayake, Justin Ridler, Simone Rosenbauer, David Rosetzky, Jo Scicluna, Vivian Cooper Smith, Jacqui Stockdale, Nathan Stolz, Angela Tiatia, Lisa Tomasetti, James Tylor, Justine Varga, Lydia Wegner and Adele Wilkes.

RSVP here