Bowness Photography Prize celebrates 15 years

To celebrate 15 years of the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize MGA has partnered with Smith & Singer to showcase the previous 15 recipients during the PHOTO 2021 International Photography Festival.

Art Exhibition previously on at Museum of Australian Photography in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Thursday 18 February 2021 to Sunday 07 March 2021

Bowness Photography Prize celebrates 15 years image

Event published by Monash Gallery of Art on Monday 15 February 2021.
Contact the publisher.

14–16 Collins Street
Melbourne Victoria 3000

Established in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, across all photographic media and genres by both established and emerging artists, the annual William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation. The Bowness Photography Prize has become an important survey of contemporary photographic practice and one of the most prestigious prizes in the country, providing Australian artists with the opportunity to exhibit at one of Australia’s leading public galleries. Since 2017 the prize has been acquisitive and the $30,000 cash prize awarded to the winner ensures that it continues to provide a significant boost to an artist’s career.

Smith & Singer’s support of the Bowness Photography Prize is a reflection of the national and historic importance of this prize and the MGA Foundation is profoundly grateful to partner with such an esteemed organisation.

The annual Bowness Photography Prize reveals artists’ continued fascination with exploring and pushing the boundaries of the photographic medium, embracing its capacity to explore a diversity of voices and perspectives.

Curator: Anouska Phizacklea

Bowness Photography Prize artists

2006 | Kathy MACKEY
2007 | Ray COOK
2008 | Nat THOMAS & Concertina INSERRA
2009 | Paul KNIGHT
2010 | Lee GRANT
2011 | Jacky REDGATE
2012 | Jesse MARLOW
2014 | Petrina HICKS
2015 | Joseph McGLENNON
2016 | Valerie SPARKS
2017 | Polixeni PAPAPETROU
2018 | Hoda AFSHAR
2019 | Katrin KOENNING
2020 | Christian THOMPSON

Presented as part of PHOTO 2021 International Photography Festival