2009 Clemenger Contemporary Art Award

Sixth Award in the series

The Clemenger Contemporary Art Award has a well-deserved reputation as one of the most prestigious and exciting visual arts events in Australia. Previous recipients of the Award are Bea Maddock (1993), Richard Larter (1996), John Nixon (1999), John Mawurndjul (2003) and Judy Watson (2006).

Art Exhibition previously on at National Gallery of Victoria - International in Flinders Lane precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Thursday 17 September 2009 to Saturday 07 February 2009

Published by anonymous on Friday 06 March 2009.
Contact the publisher.

In 1991 an extraordinary gift from Joan and Peter Clemenger enabled the National Gallery of Victoria to establish the Clemenger Contemporary Art Award, a triennial exhibition and award that celebrates the ongoing achievement of some of Australia’s most distinguished contemporary artists.

The 2009 Clemenger Contemporary Art Award is the sixth in the series and will draw together a group of established artists whose work is conceptually and stylistically diverse, yet unified in its engagement with some of the prevailing cultural and social issues of contemporary life. As the previous five exhibitions have demonstrated, the Clemenger Contemporary Art Award is national in its scope, cross-generational, and brings into dialogue the works of Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australian artists.

17 September 2009 – 7 February 2010
The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia, Federation Square
Free entry