2009 Clemenger Contemporary Art Award

In 1991 an extraordinary gift from Joan and Peter Clemenger enabled the National Gallery of Victoria to establish the Clemenger Contemporary Art Award, a triennial exhibition and award that celebrates the ongoing achievement of some of Australia’s most distinguished contemporary artists.

Art Exhibition previously on at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Thursday 17 September 2009 to Sunday 07 February 2010

Concrete Forest 2: Sagittaria trifolia (Threeleaf Arrowhead) ??? 2008-2009 (detail) image

Published by anonymous on Wednesday 19 August 2009.
Contact the publisher.

The Clemenger Contemporary Art Award has a well-deserved reputation as one of the most prestigious and exciting visual arts events in Australia. Previous recipients of the Award are Bea Maddock (1993), Richard Larter (1996), John Nixon (1999), John Mawurndjul (2003) and Judy Watson (2006).

The 2009 Clemenger Contemporary Art Award is the sixth in the series and will draw together a group of established artists whose work is conceptually and stylistically diverse, yet unified in its engagement with some of the prevailing cultural and social issues of contemporary life. As the previous five exhibitions have demonstrated, the Clemenger Contemporary Art Award is national in its scope, cross-generational, and brings into dialogue the works of Indigenous and non- Indigenous Australian artists.

Free entry