Bowness Photography Prize 2011

Thirty seven images by some of Australia's best photographers are in the running for the $25 000 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize. The finalist's works were selected from approximately 2 000 photographs submitted by 432 entrants. One of these finalists will win the $25 000 first prize. Three finalists will be awarded an Adobe Honourable Mention prize.

Art Exhibition previously on at MGA - Monash Gallery of Art in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Thursday 15 September 2011 to Sunday 16 October 2011

Max PAM image Rocklea, QLD image The underpass image Autumn image Cory image Australia Day #1 (Ford Falcon XR8) image Sophie Hennser image Protest dance image Untitled image Unstill (fruits) diptych image Father and son image Agile Creeper image Drowned worlds image Untitled #2 image Prints image Eastern Distributer exhaust stack image Track #4 image Telescope (II) 2011 (segment II, detail) image Cloverdowns image The struggle image

Published by Monash Gallery of Art on Sunday 18 September 2011.
Contact the publisher.

The short-listed artists are:

Warwick Baker, Kate Bernauer, Magdalena Bors, Chris Budgeon, Elaine Campaner, Michael Corridore, Jagath Dheerasekara, Jackson Eaton, Cherine Fahd, Sean Fennessy, Anne Ferran, Phillip George, Dean Golja, Natalie Grono, David Manley, Olivia Martin-McGuire, Prudence Murphy, Harry Nankin, Catherine Nelson, Matthew Newton, Selina Ou, Max Pam, Polixeni Papapetrou, Geoff Parr, Sonia Payes, Drew Pettifer, Helen Pynor, Jacky Redgate, Simone Rosenbauer, Julie Rrap, Martin Smith, Simon Terrill, Claudia Terstappen, Glenn Walls, Rudi Williams, Alex Wisser, Yiwen Yao.

Established in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, the annual non-acquisitive William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation. Among Australia’s most important art prizes, the Bowness Photography Prize is the country’s most coveted photography prize.

In 2011, photographers will be competing for $25,000 first prize, three Adobe Honourable Mention Awards and $1,000 Crumpler People’s Choice Award.

The 2011 Bowness Photography Prize judging panel is:
ROBYN STACEY, photographer, GEOFFREY SMITH, Chairman of Sotheby’s Australia and Trustee of the MGA Foundation and SHAUNE LAKIN, MGA Director.

View the finalists images on Flickr