2012 Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award

The theme of ‘containment’ will be explored by fourteen Victorian artists for the 2012 Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award. The Award focuses on contemporary design practice in Victoria and is arguably the most prestigious offered to a contemporary practitioner in Australia with a prize of $30,000 provided through the Cicely & Colin Rigg Bequest, managed by ANZ Trustees.

Art Exhibition previously on at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia in Melbourne precinct, Victoria, Australia.
From Friday 23 November 2012 to Sunday 21 July 2013

Rail as vessel 2012 (detail) image Vessels: The space within 2008–12
stoneware image Series 3 2011–12 (detail) image Ghosts of stoneware 2012 (detail) image Ghosts of stoneware 2012 (detail) image Rail as vessel 2012 (detail) image Mungo light 6 2011–12 image Together 2011-12 image Together 2011-12 (detail) image Clearing 2012 image Clearing 2012 (detail) image Perilous containment 2012 image My family souvenirs 2012 (detail) image Nerikomi vessels 2012 (detail) image Stone soup 2012 (detail) image Stone soup 2012 (detail) image Jar 2011 image Jar 2011 image Not willing to suffocate 2012 (detail) image Tea set 2010–12 (detail) image

Published by anonymous on Monday 22 October 2012.
Contact the publisher.

Tony Ellwood, NGV Director, said, “This year’s Award presents an exciting mix of Victorian artists and reflects the NGV’s ongoing commitment to contemporary design. The NGV is only able to stage this important event thanks to the vision of the Trustees of the Rigg Bequest and the foresight of the generous benefactors, Cicely and Colin Rigg.”

Teresa Zolnierkiewicz, Head of Philanthropy, ANZ Trustees, said, “The Rigg Bequest is a generous legacy of the late Colin Rigg (1895-1982). He was inspired by the Felton Bequest to create something in his own will that developed the arts in Victoria. This award, designed by the Trustees in partnership with the NGV, serves as a demonstration of the power of philanthropy to nurture and support artists and designers, vital to a thriving society.”

The participating artists in 2012 are: Garry Bish, Robin Bold, Emma Davies, Mark Edgoose, Neville French, Titania Henderson, Marian Hosking, Richard Morrell, Ian Mowbray, David Pottinger, David Ray, Owen Rye, Yhonnie Scarce and Katherine Wheeler.

Amanda Dunsmore, Curator, International Decorative Arts & Antiquities, NGV, said, “The choice of a theme for this year’s Award, rather than a specific area of practice, allows great scope for interpretation. Many of the works employ a sculptural aesthetic while remaining inherently functional, yet they play with the possibilities of what might be, beyond their practical value. Other works are presented in the context of a traditional concept.”

Previous recipients of the Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award are Neville Assad-Sadha (1994) for ceramics, Robert Baines (1997) for metalwork, Louise Weaver (2003) for textiles, Sally Marsland (2006) for jewellery and Simone LeAmon (2009) for seated furniture.

Emma Mayall, Assistant Curator, Contemporary Art, said, “This year’s group of artists represents a diverse mix of emerging and established practitioners. The vibrancy of Victorian design is highlighted through the wide range of practice and media represented, including ceramics, glass, metalwork, plastics and natural materials.”

The recipient of the 2012 Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award will be announced on 22 November. The judge for this year’s Award is Robert Reason, Curator, European and Australian Decorative Arts at the Art Gallery of South Australia.

Containment: 2012 Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award will be on display at The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia from 23 November 2012 until 21 July 2013. Open 10am–5pm, Tues–Sun. Admission is free.