2013 Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize

The RKMAP, established 17 years ago, is respected as an important contemporary art prize that supports both established and early-career Australian and New Zealand artists in a unique structure that recognises the importance of dialogue and mentoring between generations of artists.

Art Exhibition previously on at National Art School Gallery in New South Wales, Australia.
From Friday 03 May 2013 to Saturday 01 June 2013

Cigdem Aydemir Bombshell image Callum Morton image

Event published by anonymous on Monday 27 May 2013.
Contact the publisher.

The National Art School is delighted to be working together with Redlands to present the Redlands Konica Minolta Art Prize (RKMAP).

It is not limited by media or subject matter. Each year a guest curator is appointed to curate the exhibition and select approximately 20 artists. In 2013 the guest curator will be the highly respected artist and educator Julie Rrap. In addition to this, each invited artist is asked to nominate an emerging artist to exhibit with them. A panel of judges consisting of up to two invited experts in the field, two representative from Redlands and the National Art School Curator will award the prize categories.

Julie Rrap will be the guest curator for 2013 and the Prize also welcomes new sponsors for each category, increasing the total prize pool to $36,000. Longstanding supporter Konica Minolta, previously sponsor of the emerging award, will sponsor the main artist award whilst increasing prize money to $25,000. Law firm Allens will sponsor the emerging artist prize, awarding $10,000 to the winning artist. There is an additional $1000 prize awarded to the artist selected as the Viewers’ Choice. The acquisitions form a substantial part of Redlands teaching collection.

List of Artists:

Cate Consandine and Bridie Lunney
Nadine Christensen and Karri Cameron
Tony Clark and Emma Borland
Liz Day and Laura Hindmarsh
Cherine Fahd and Todd Robinson
Emily Floyd and Adri Valery Wens
David Haines and Michaela Gleave
Joyce Hinterding and Vicki Browne
Bronia Iwanczak and Andrew Liversidge
Deborah Kelly and Cigdem Aydemir
T.V. Moore and James Kerr
Callum Morton and Andrew Verano
Tom Nicholson and Saskia Doherty
Raquel Ormella and Leah Bullen
Michael Parekowhai and Eleanor Cooper
Robert Pulie and Ryan Hoffman
Debra Phillips and artist collective Bababa International
Kathy Temin and Jen Broadhurst
John Tonkin and Diego Ramirez
Ronnie Van Hout and both Shae Rooke and Lizzy Sampson
Judith Wright and Michael Riddle