Fleurieu Art Prize

In 2016 the Fleurieu Art Prize – the richest landscape art prize in the world – will relocate from its home on the beautiful Fleurieu Peninsula of South Australia to the Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art in Adelaide, where it will be presented to city audiences for the first time.

Art Exhibition previously on at Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art in South Australia, Australia.
From Friday 03 June 2016 to Friday 29 July 2016

Fleurieu Art Prize  image Fleurieu Art Prize  image

Event published by anonymous on Tuesday 02 February 2016.
Contact the publisher.

Landscape as a subject for art continues to capture the imagination not only of the wider community, but also increasingly of leading artists wanting to express a connection with place, and who recognise that landscape holds a compelling power for our contemporary culture.

Shortlisted artists include: Tony Albert, Brook Andrew, Raymond Arnold, Narelle Autio, Tok Basuki, Lionel Bawden, Clare Belfrage, Natasha Bieniek, Julie Blyfield, Andrew Browne, Thomas Buchanan, Stephen Bush, Jacobus Capone, Gary Carsley, James Darling + Lesley Forwood, Ed Douglas, Hayden Fowler, Neil Frazer, Holly Grace, Neil Haddon, Robert Hannaford, Nicholas Harding, Tim Johnson, Ash Keating, John Kelly, Ildiko Kovacs, Janet Laurence, Sam Leach, Richard Lewer, Tony Lloyd, William Mackinnon, Noel McKenna, Alexander Mckenzie, Danie Mellor, Jeffery Mincham, Geoff Newton, Jamie North, Ian North, Jill Orr, Baden Pailthorpe, Anna Platten, Rodney Pople, Joan Ross, Alex Seton, Sam Shmith, Tim Silver, Valerie Sparks, Vipoo Srivilasa, David Stephenson + Martin Walch, Kylie Stillman, Imants Tillers, Aida Tomescu, James Tylor, Hossein Valamanesh, Megan Walch, Sera Waters, Amy Joy Watson, Geoff Wilson, and Philip Wolfhagen.

The judging panel: Nigel Hurst, Director, Saatchi Gallery London; Suhanya Raffel, Deputy Director and Director of Collections, Art Gallery of New South Wales; and Erica Green, Director, Samstag Museum of Art. The 2016 winner of the Landscape Prize will be announced on opening night on Thursday 2 June 2016.

Since its establishment in 1998, the Fleurieu Art Prize has been staged eight times. Now valued at $65,000, the non-acquisitive prize has garnered an international reputation. Former winners include Fiona Lowry (2013), Ken Whisson (2006), Elisabeth Cummings (2000) and Robert Hannford (1998).

The Fleurieu Art Prize for Landscape is accompanied by a Festival Community Program celebrating the art, food and wine of the Fleurieu Peninsula region. The highlight of this program is the $10,000 Fleurieu Food + Wine Art Prize, a non-acquisitive prize for paintings with a food and wine theme. The Food + Wine Art Prize will be anchored in McLaren Vale and will continue the Fleurieu Art Prize’s close association with the Fleurieu Peninsula.