JAMES PARRETT wins the prestigious 2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize

Art Announcement from Australia. Published by Gould Galleries on Friday 04 March 2016.

M-Twentyfour  image

James Parrett has won the Montalto Sculpture Prize for his work M-Twentyfour (Biggest). Congratulations to James who received the $30,000 Prize. His work M-Twentyfour (Biggest) will join the other 26 permanent pieces in the Montalto Sculpture Collection, including the 13 previous Prize winners.

The Mitchell Family Choice Award ($1,000 non-acquisitive) went to Serena Bonson for ‘Wangarra Family’.

The MSP Exhibition of Finalists is open daily from 11am – 5pm from 28 February – 30 October 2016, and entry to the Exhibition is free. All of the sculptures (apart from the winning piece) are available for sale.

To hear the artists talking about their works, click here

2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize Finalists:

Congratulations to the following…

Helen Laetitia Alexander
Robert Barnstone
Aldo Bilotta
Serena Bonson
Andreas Buisman
Ben Carroll
Julie Collins & Derek John
Mark Cuthbertson
Sam Deal
Ralf Driessen
Lang Ea
Brendan Hackett
Martin George
Phil Gordon
Greg Johns
Mike Nicholls
James Parrett
RCM Collective
Ellen Sayers
Michael Shiell
Salli Sixpence
Marcus Tatton
Nicholas Uhlmann
Frank Veldze
Stewart Westle
Christabel Wigley

Key Dates:

Wednesday 20th January – Saturday 23rd January 2016. Installation of finalists work
Sunday 28th February 2016. Exhibition opening. Winner announced.
Sunday 28th February 2016 – Sunday 3oth October 2016. Exhibition to be held in the grounds of Montalto.
The Judges for the 2016 Montalto Sculpture Prize:

Peter Williams (Williams Boag Architects)
Brian Sadgrove (Sadgrove Design)
Phillip Doggett-Williams (Artist & Curator)
John Mitchell (Montalto)
Guest Judge: Ian Hicks