Australia Council welcomes the appointment of Christine Simpson Stokes

Art Announcement from Australia. Published by anonymous on Wednesday 02 March 2016.

Australia Council Chair Rupert Myer AO has today welcomed the appointment of Christine Simpson Stokes to the Council’s Board.

The appointment of Mrs Simpson Stokes for a three-year term was announced this afternoon by Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield, Minister for the Arts.

Mr Myer congratulated Mrs Simpson Stokes on her appointment and said how pleased the Board was that she had accepted the position.

“Mrs Simpson Stokes has extensive experience in business management and media,” Mr Myer said.

“West Australian based, Mrs Simpson Stokes is well-known for her philanthropy and support of the arts, and her expertise will be a welcome addition to the Australia Council Board."

“Mrs Simpson Stokes joins existing Board members Robyn Archer AO (Deputy Chair), Tony Grybowski, Waleed Aly, Lee-Ann Buckskin, Adrian Collette AM, Khoa Do, Sophie Mitchell, Samantha Mostyn, Tim Orton, and Rebecca Weisser.”

Mrs Simpson Stokes is a Trustee of Western Australia’s Children’s Charity Telethon, Patron of the Young Indigenous Women’s leadership program ‘Kimberley Girl’, and a member of the Advisory Council of the Jackman Furness Foundation for the Performing Arts.