iD2012 Digital Portraiture Award Winner announced

Art Press Release from Australia. Published by Rebecca Gabrielle Cannon on Tuesday 07 August 2012.

‘The school photo portrait records our progression through childhood and early adulthood, presenting a composed and formal visual account of our school years. Laura Moore’s digital portrait evokes other levels of school day memories. The work is startling, poignant and powerful. The judges were in complete agreement to name Laura Moore as the inaugural recipient of the iD Digital Portraiture Award.’
Dr Christopher Chapman, Senior Curator,
National Portrait Gallery

The inaugural iD Digital Portraiture Award is an annual event intended to extend traditional notions of portraiture, and reflects the National Portrait Gallery’s commitment to fostering emerging artists between the ages of 18 and 30 years old with an interest in contemporary technology.

Laura’s portrait along with the four other finailists, Aaron James McGarry, Nina Mulhall, Clare Thackway and Bridget Walker, will be on view at the National Portrait Gallery until 28 October 2012.

National Portrait Gallery on Artabase