United States winners for the 2011 National Medal for Museum and Library Services announced

Art Press Release from Australia. Published by Rebecca Gabrielle Cannon on Monday 14 November 2011.

United States

The National Medal is the nation’s highest honor for museums and libraries in America, for extraordinary civic, educational, economic, environmental, and social contributions. Recipients must demonstrate innovative approaches to public service and community outreach.

This year’s winners include two art museums, the Brooklyn Museum of Art and the Erie Art Museum.


The other institutions that will receive the IMLS medal this year are:

Brooklyn Museum of Art, New York.

Weippe Public Library & Discovery Center, Weippe, ID

San José Public Library, San José, CA

Alachua County Library District, Gainesville, FL

Columbus Metropolitan Library, Columbus, OH

EdVenture Children’s Museum, Columbia, SC

Erie Art Museum, Erie, PA

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, Richmond, VA

Madison Children’s Museum, Madison, WI

Hill Museum & Manuscript Library, Collegeville, MN

IMLS is the primary source of United States federal funding for museums and libraries. The National Medal for Museum and Library Service was created to highlight the vital role these institutions play in American society. Recipients are selected by the director of IMLS following an open nomination process and based on the recommendations of the National Museum and Library Services Board.