Art Album from United Kingdom. Published by anonymous on Friday 04 March 2016.


For sale : GBP £350.00

Product Details: * Ten 10" white vinyl records unique to this edition * Each contains a sine wave relating to a different planet * Housed in a custom-made box, hand lined in Suedel Luxe Charbon * Includes 10 screen printed PVC prints * Composed and produced by Ryoji Ikeda * Mastered by Rashad Becker * Limited edition of 100 copies worldwide

Japan’s leading electronic composer and visual artist, Ryoji Ikeda collaborates with The Vinyl Factory to create a incredibly special and hugely collectable box set consisting of ten 10-inch vinyl records only available in this limited edition.

Each record contains a unique sine wave with a different frequency correlating to a different planet in the solar system. Housed in a cloth bound, custom-made clamshell box with a custom made spindle holding the vinyl in place, each record interspersed with screen printed PVC prints.

This edition is the latest collaboration between The Vinyl Factory and Ryoji Ikeda following the UK premiere of Ryoji Ikeda’s supersymmetry installation, which exhibted at The Vinyl Factory Space at Brewer Street Car Park from in May 2015.

Ikeda’s supersymmetry was a fully immersive auditory and visual experience – an artistic vision of the reality of nature, an interpretation of quantum mechanics and quantum information theory from an aesthetic viewpoint. The work draws on his exchanges with scientists and engineers during his stay at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), the world’s largest particle physics laboratory.

Locked Grooves (Ten x 10" Vinyl)

1. Mercury
2. Venus
3. Earth
4. Mars
5. Asteroids
6. Jupiter
7. Saturn
8. Uranus
9. Neptune
10. Pluto

Available exclusively from The Vinyl Factory. Pre-order now; released 28 March.

Ryoji Ikeda is a leading electronic composer and visual artist who focuses on the essential characteristics of sound itself and those of visuals as light by means of both mathematical precision and mathematical aesthetics. Ikeda has gained a reputation as one of the few international artists working convincingly across both visual and sonic media. He elaborately orchestrates sound, visuals, materials, physical phenomena and mathematical notions into immersive live performances and installations.

His works include projects ranging from live performances to installations, books and CD’s such as datamatics (2006-), test pattern (2008-), spectra (2001-), cyclo – a collaborative project with Carsten Nicolai – and superposition (2012-).

He performs and exhibits worldwide at prestigious venues and events such as the Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, Singapore art Museum, Ars Electronica Center Linz, Elektra Festival Montreal, Grec and Sonar Festivals Barcelona, Aichi Triennale Nagoya, Palazzo Grassi Venice, Park Avenue Armory New York, Barbican Center London, Museo de Arte Bogota, Hamburger Bahnhof Berlin, DHC/Art Montreal, Festival d’Automne Paris, Sharjah Biennale, Carriageworks Sydney, Auckland Triennale, MONA Museum Hobart – Tasmania, Ruhrtriennale, Telefonica Foundation Madrid, MoMA New York, Kyoto Experiment Festival, among others.

Born in 1966 in Gifu, Japan, Ryoji Ikeda currently lives and works in Paris.

Enquire about purchasing this work